For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
The ASH Valorisation Award is presented every other year to (a) member(s) of ASH. The award recognises an individual or team’s ability to reach new audiences, demonstrating a lasting impact on the public. The award is accompanied by a prize of € 250.


David de Boer was awarded the prize for his work on raising public awareness on the importance of migration in Dutch history. This was done through a wide range of media to reach such as a book, tv, radio and public lectures to reach a wide audience.

Honorable mentions for the ASH Valorisation Award 2022-2023 are: Peter van Dam and Marin Kuijt for their work about the gas extraction and the parliamentary inquiries, Vincent Kuitenbrouwer with MediaOorlog and Laura van Hasselt with Geld, geloof en goede vrienden.


Bart Wallet was awarded the prize for his work on the refutation of a publication alleging that the notary Arnold van den Bergh betrayed the Secret Annexe where Anne Frank and family members were in hiding. 


Anique Hamelink was awarded the prize for her work on Roman clothing, jewelry and hairstyles in the Roman period. As a historian and jewerly designer, she has lent her expertise to numerous events aimed at the general public, TV-programmes, and the National Museum of Antiquities. 


Anne Lot Hoek was awarded the prize for her work on the Dutch colonial period in Indonesia and the decolonization of Indonesia. As a historian and journalist she regularly publishes in written media, and she has also appeared on radio and TV.


Lia van Gemert was instrumental in organising activities and giving lectures for the ‘Brederode Year’, commemorating the 400th anniversary of the death of the Dutch poet and playwright G.A. Bredero.

Tim Verlaan’s many activities included giving the annual Enneüs Heermalezing, his involvement in the collective Failed Architecture, his advisory role for the Gemeente Amsterdam on post-war architecture and his frequent appearances in the media to weigh in on issues regarding contemporary urban history.


Weblog Over de Muur for publishing articles on History in connection with current affairs.

Josephine van den Bent for her role as editor-in-chief of the magazine ZemZem and as president of the board of the Zenobia Foundation.


Djoeke van Netten (Early Modern History) for her role as guest curator of the exhibition 'The World according to Blaeu | Master Cartographer of the Dutch Golden Age', at the Maritime Museum.


Frans Grijzenhout (Art History) for his project on the 'Straatje van Vermeer'.


Gemma Blok (History) for her two projects: 'Achter de Voordeur', a history of public mental health in 20th century Amsterdam, and ‘heroine epidemic’ in the Netherlands in the 70s and 80s.

Ingrid de Zwarte (History) for her contributions to an exhibition on the Dutch food crisis in 1944-1946 at the Verzetsmuseum.

Read the news item